“I could open the case, have a peek, and sneak out again. Just a peek. No one would know…”

Uncle Dougie's Suitcase, Alastair Chisholm

Houses Borders Ghosts

It’s time to announce the winners of our 2015 Flash Fiction Competition.

Once again, the high standard of entries means that we’re announcing a shortlist. All shortlisted authors will receive a three-volume subscription to our anthology series, starting with volume 9 (coming in August).

The three winners will also receive cash prizes, and their stories will appear in an anthology later this year.

Let’s start with the complete shortlist. There are ten stories, presented here in alphabetical order by author:

  • The Last Day – S E Craythorne
  • Wood – Tracy Fells
  • Nuclear Family – Jenny Harding
  • Two-Timer – F J Morris
  • Five Toes, and So On – Dan Purdue
  • The Trouble With Men – Andy Shearer
  • Memories – Ian Shine
  • Beat the Brainbox – Mike Scott Thomson
  • That Buzzing Inside My Head – Ren Watson
  • Youth – Liz Xifaras

And now for the winners…

The third prize (£50) goes to:

  • Freya Morris, for Two-Timer

The second prize (£100) goes to:

  • Mike Scott Thomson, for Beat the Brainbox

And the first prize (£300) goes to:

  • Ren Watson, for That Buzzing Inside My Head

Congratulations to all of the authors listed above, and thank you to all of you who took part in our flash fiction competition this year. I’ll be getting in touch in the next couple of weeks to arrange subscriptions and prizes.

The Flash Fiction Competition will open again in spring 2016. The Newcomer Prize for short stories opens for entries next week.

2 Comments on “Announcing the winners of our 2015 Flash Fiction Competition”

  1. Anthony Emecheta Says:

    Congrats to the winners. Really catchy titles too

  2. Freya Morris Says:

    Thanks Anthony! And congrats to the other shortlistees and winners! Can’t wait to read the anthology.

Leave a Comment